Kevin Hart to receive 'Comedic Genius Award' from Jimmy Kimmel at the '2015 MTV Movie Awards'


MTV today announced that comedian and actor Kevin Hart will receive the MTV “Comedic Genius Award” during the “2015 MTV Movie Awards”. In addition, Jessie J will bring her signature style and unmatchable sense of cool to burn up the red carpet of the “2015 MTV Movie Awards” as she hosts the spectacular Pre-Show airing LIVE on Monday, 13 April at 6.30am (TH/WIB), 7.30am (PH/SG) and 8.30am (MY). Immediately following the Pre-Show special, at 7am (TH/WIB), 8am (PH/SG) and 9am (MY), MTV will air the “2015 MTV Movie Awards” from Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California, hosted by Amy Schumer. The main show repeats on the same day at 6.30pm (WIB), 7.30pm (SG), 8.30pm (MY) and 9.30pm (TH).
Presented by late-night funny man Jimmy Kimmel, the “Comedic Genius Award” will honour Hart for his bold and irreverent comedic style that has captivated audiences from his movies and sitcoms, to stand-up specials, award show performances and in front of packed arenas of fans. The first recipient of the award was Hart’s Get Hardco-star, Will Ferrell, in 2013.
Hart, known for his raw and unfiltered comedy, joins the star-studded line-up for this year’s show, including host Amy Schumer, “Trailblazer Award” recipient Shailene Woodley and confirmed presenters Miles Teller, Reese Witherspoon, Vin Diesel and Sofia Vergara.
Hart made his comedic debut during an amateur night at a Philadelphia comedy club and was instantly hooked. He quit his job as a shoe salesman and began performing full time. In 2011, during the “Laugh At My Pain” comedy tour, Hart sold out the Nokia Theater two nights in a row breaking the record previously set by Eddie Murphy.
With his passion for stand-up, Hart continues to tour the country to sold-out audiences and has grown his empire to include box-office hits including: Ride AlongThe Wedding RingerThink Like A ManThe Five Year EngagementLittle FockersFool’s GoldDeath at a Funeral,Along Came Polly and The 40 Year Old Virgin. His latest movie, Get Hard, with Will Ferrell opened this weekend. On television, Hart has been equally as successful as executive producer of the show “Real Husbands of Hollywood,” along with other television credits that includes his most recent role as Roast Master for the "Comedy Central Roast of Justin Bieber".
Poised in the middle of the action, Jessie J and MTV’s Josh Horowitz will give viewers a first-hand look at all of the hip, Hollywood royalty walking the carpet from some of this summer’s most anticipated movies as they make their show-stopping arrivals during the Pre-Show. Also, Cara Delevingne, Nat Wolff and author John Green will be on hand to introduce an exclusive sneak from the upcoming feature, Paper Towns.
Adding to the excitement, the first award of the night, “Best Hero,” presented by Mtn. Dew® Kickstart™, will be revealed live during the Pre-Show. This socially-voted category puts fans in charge of choosing the winner. “Best Hero” nominees will be revealed and voting will begin on Thursday, 2 April.
Finally, fans will not want to miss social sensation Todrick Hall’s theatrical arrival in the FIAT brand’s all-new cross-over 2016 FIAT 500X that is sure to have the Internet buzzing.
This year's “Movie Awards” nominees span every film genre from dystopian universes (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 and The Maze Runner) to heart-felt coming of age stories (The Fault In Our Stars and Boyhood), out-of-this-world comedies (Guardians of the Galaxy, Neighbors, The Interview, The Wedding Ringer and Top Five), real-life heroes (Selma and American Sniper) and more. Fans will witness epic match-ups between the likes of Channing Tatum and Chris Pratt taking on funny-men Chris Rock and Kevin Hart for "Best Comedic Performance," Rosario Dawson battling it out with Jason Sudeikis, Jonah Hill and Seth Rogen for "Best WTF Moment," Meryl Streep and J.K. Simmons vying for "Best Villain" and Zac Efron defending his 2014 title for "Best Shirtless Performance" against the beautiful Kate Upton and teen heartthrob Ansel Elgort.
Additional nominees include: Reese Witherspoon, David Oyelowo, Scarlett Johansson, Eddie Redmayne, Jennifer Lawrence, Dylan O'Brien, Emma Stone, Chris Pratt, Shailene Woodley, Miles Teller, Jennifer Lopez, Chris Evans, Zoe Saldana, James Franco, Rosamund Pike, Bradley Cooper, Elizabeth Banks and many more. Fans can cast their votes for their favorites at through Saturday, 11 April. Voting for "Movie of the Year" will continue throughout the live broadcast of the show.
The “2015 MTV Movie Awards” will once again officially kick-off the summer blockbuster season, promising to deliver yet another epically funny, explosive, over-the-top show that features fan favorite films, actors and musicians. In addition, the show will honour the best films and performances from the past year, while featuring exclusive, never-before-seen moments from some of the most highly-anticipated summer films. Nominations will be announced at a later date. The telecast will air across MTV's global network of more than 60 channels and 200 digital media properties reaching more than half a billion households around the world.
The 2015 MTV Movie Awards are sponsored by Spy, the comedy event of the year from 20th Century Fox.
Jesse Ignjatovic of Den of Thieves, Lee Lodge and Garrett English serve as Executive Producers for the “2015 MTV Movie Awards.” English also serves as Executive in Charge for MTV. Barb Bialkowski serves as Producer. Wendy Plaut serves as Co-Executive Producer and Executive in Charge of Celebrity Talent. Amy Doyle is Executive in Charge of Music and Celebrity Talent. Joanna Bomberg is Executive in Charge of Music Talent.