Amy Schumer to Host '2015 MTV Movie Awards' Monday, 13 April


MTV has announced that Amy Schumer will host the 24th annual “2015 MTV Movie Awards” live on Monday, 13 April at 8am (WIB), 9am (SG) and 10am (MY)* from Nokia Theatre L.A. Live in Los Angeles, California. The show repeats on the same day at 8pm (WIB/TH), 9pm (PH/SG) and 10pm (MY)*.

Schumer becomes the first person to invade all of MTV’s social media accounts to personally make the announcement with her provocative sense of humour to MTV’s footprint of more than 210 million fans. The takeover included an hour of funny and cryptic Tweets, Instagrams, Facebook posts, Vines, Tumblr posts and Snapchats before the big reveal.

Amy Schumer to host the 24th MTV Movie Awards 2015

“I am honored to be hosting the awards,” said Amy Schumer. “I will carry the audience with me like a teen mom #breaktheinternet #breakmywater.”

Known for her blend of honesty and unapologetic sense of humour, Schumer is the creator, star, writer and executive producer of the Emmy-nominated series, “Inside Amy Schumer” on Comedy Central. Schumer will also take to the silver screen with the July 2015 release of Universal Pictures’ Trainwreck, a comedy that she wrote and developed with director Judd Apatow. Schumer will star in the film alongside Bill Hader, Brie Larson, Colin Quinn, Vanessa Bayer, Tilda Swinton, LeBron James and John Cena. The film was produced by Apatow and Barry Mendel.

“Wickedly funny and sharply insightful, Amy Schumer is perhaps the most ascendant talent in comedy today and she’s on the brink of an epic year,” said Stephen Friedman, President of MTV. “We are thrilled to work with Amy to create an unpredictable and hilarious showcase for Hollywood’s biggest blockbusters and brightest stars in what promises to be the most combustible Movie Awards ever.”

The “2015 MTV Movie Awards” will once again officially kick-off the summer blockbuster season, promising to deliver yet another epically funny, explosive, over-the-top show that features fan favourite films, actors and musicians. In addition, the show will honour the best films and performances from the past year, while featuring exclusive, never-before-seen moments from some of the most highly-anticipated summer films. Nominations will be announced at a later date. The telecast will air across MTV's global network of more than 60 channels and 200 digital media properties reaching more than half a billion households around the world.

Amy Schumer

Jesse Ignjatovic of Den of Thieves, Lee Lodge and Garrett English serve as Executive Producers for the “2015 MTV Movie Awards.” English also serves as Executive in Charge for MTV. Barb Bialkowski serves as Producer. Wendy Plaut serves as Co-Executive Producer and Executive in Charge of Celebrity Talent. Amy Doyle is Executive in Charge of Music and Celebrity Talent. Joanna Bomberg is Executive in Charge of Music Talent.

*Telecast timings subject to change.