MTV Announces the first five Nominees* for the 2014 MTV EMA 'Best Southeast Asia Act' Category


MTV EMA season is underway! MTV has revealed the first five* nominees for the Best Southeast Asia Act: NOAH (Indonesia), Yuna (Malaysia), Sarah Geronimo (Philippines), Stefanie Sun (Singapore), and Slot Machine (Thailand). And for the first time ever, MTV is putting an EMA nomination in the hands of the fans via social media – music lovers everywhere will have the power to help select the “wild card” nominee for Best Southeast Asia Act.

NOAH (Indonesia)

Yuna (Malaysia)

Sarah Geronimo (Philippines)

Stefanie Sun (Singapore)

Slot Machine (Thailand)

Fans can now tweet and vote from the following list of artists to earn the “wild card” nominee spot:

Afgan (Indonesia), Tweet #MTVEMA #NominateAfgan

Agnez Mo (Indonesia), Tweet #MTVEMA #NominateAgnezMo

Joe Flizzow (Malaysia), Tweet #MTVEMA #NominateJoeFlizzow

Up Dharma Down (Philippines), Tweet #MTVEMA #NominateUpDharmaDown

The Sam Willows (Singapore), Tweet #MTVEMA #NominateTheSamWillows

Stamp Apiwat (Thailand), Tweet #MTVEMA #NomiateStampApiwat

The wild card Twitter vote is open until Monday, 15 September at 5:59am SGT. All “2014 MTV EMA” nominees (including Vietnam’s local nominee) will be announced and voting will open on Tuesday, 16 September at 6am SGT.

The “2014 MTV EMA” will broadcast on MTV channels around the world from The Hydro in Glasgow. In Asia, the show premieres on Monday, 10 November (telecast timings will be announced later). The MTV EMA – MTV’s global celebration of the hottest stars in music – recognizes artists from around the world and across genres, and brings together music fans everywhere for a one-of-a-kind experience in the weeks leading up to and at the show.

*There is no wild card nominee for Vietnam. Vietnam’s local nominee will be announced on 16 September.