Frenemies face-off at the 2014 MTV EMA


MTV today revealed the nominees for the 2014 MTV EMA, the world’s annual music awards show that celebrates the year’s hottest artists from around the globe, which will see some of the biggest names in music battle it out. Aussie exports 5 Seconds of Summer are up against British heroes One Direction in the Best Pop category, and their tribes will face-off Twitter-style in the Biggest Fans category. The rivalry continues between Katy Perry and Taylor Swift, as they go head-to-head for Best Female and Best Look. The queens of hip hop Nicki Minaj and Iggy Azalea will show down in two categories: Best Hip Hop and Best Look. The 2014 MTV EMA will broadcast live from The Hydro in Glasgow on Sunday, 9 November at 9:00pm CET* (Monday, 10 November at 4:00am Singapore time).

  • Katy Perry leads the race with nominations in seven categories, while Ariana Grande follows closely with nods in six categories. Pharrell Williams and 5 Seconds of Summer are each up for five awards. One DirectionNicki MinajIggy Azalea, EminemSam Smith and Kiesza all received four MTV EMA nominations each. To view nominees in all award categories please visit
  • Nominees in the Biggest Fans category were also announced today. Fan groups have been given the power to vote for their favourite artists via Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #EMABiggestFans along with the artists’ names. Here are the official hashtags:
    • #EMABiggestFans1D
    • #EMABiggestFans5SOS
    • #EMABiggestFansJustinBieber
    • #EMABiggestFansNickiMinaj
    • #EMABiggestFansArianaGrande
  • 2014 MTV EMA voting is now open for all categories at, including the Best Southeast Asia Act category, for which wild card nominee Agnez Mo has been chosen via fan vote. The wild card fan vote saw a staggering 19 million votes flood in from around the world. More digital activations are set to follow throughout the 2014 MTV EMA campaign.
  • With the announcement of the wild card nominee, the nominees for the Best Southeast Asia Act category are:
    • Agnez Mo (Indonesia)
    • NOAH (Indonesia)
    • Yuna (Malaysia)
    • Sarah Geronimo (Philippines)
    • Stefanie Sun (Singapore)
    • Slot Machine (Thailand)
    • Hồ Ngọc Hà (Vietnam)

  • Voting for the Best Southeast Asia Act is now open till 23 October 2014, 5.59am Singapore time.
  • Voting for all MTV EMA nominees' categories will close on 9 November 2014, 5.59am Singapore time. 
The 2014 MTV EMA will broadcast on MTV channels around the world Sunday, November 9th at 9:00PM CET* (Monday, 10 November at 4:00am Singapore time) from The Hydro in Glasgow. The MTV EMA– MTV’s global celebration of the hottest stars in music – recognizes artists from around the world and across genres, and brings together music fans everywhere for a one-of-a-kind experience in the weeks leading up to and at the show. The 2014 MTV EMA marks the first time that the show will be held in Glasgow, Scotland and has received support from Glasgow City Marketing Bureau and Event Scotland. 

Follow @MTVEMA and check #MTVEMA on Twitter and find them on Instagram or Facebook