Comedy Central wins Three Primetime Emmy Awards


Comedy Central, the #1 brand in comedy received three awards at the 2013-2014 Primetime Emmy® Awards, for “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” and “The Colbert Report”. International comedy show “Saturday Night Live” (SNL), broadcasting exclusively on Comedy Central Asia received five awards. SNL continues to hold two records - the most number of Emmy® Award wins (45) and most nominations (187) for a television programme to date.

Since receiving its first Emmy Award for Outstanding Writing for a Variety, Music, or Comedy Series in 2001 (“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart”), Comedy Central has dominated the Variety Series categories with “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” and “The Colbert Report” earning a combined 26 Emmy among the Series, Writing and Editing categories, including 12 consecutive Emmys for Outstanding Variety Series (“The Daily Show” 2003-2012; “The Colbert Report” 2013 and 2014). This year, Comedy Central held four of the six nominations for Outstanding Writing for a Variety Series (“The Colbert Report,” “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart,” “Inside Amy Schumer” and “Key & Peele”).

“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” increased its overall Emmy Award total to 20 with a win for Outstanding Picture Editing for Short-Form Segments and Variety Specials (Eric Davies, Editor). The series is also a two-time winner of the prestigious Peabody®Award for Excellence in Broadcasting

SNL is the longest running late night comedy sketch show in history and has for over three decades, delivered politics and current affairs with a humorous and often satirical twist. The brand new season 40 of the show, which marks its 40th anniversary premieres exclusively on Comedy Central Asia on Saturday, 4 October.

The 66th Primetime Emmy Awards were presented in two ceremonies. The first, primarily for creative arts categories, took place on Saturday, 16 August, while the balance of the Emmys, primarily for the performing arts, and were announced last night before a black-tie audience during a primetime telecast (NBC). Both ceremonies took place at the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles, CA.

Comedy Central Asia is the destination for the first and exclusive premieres of Emmy Award winning programmes, “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” and “Saturday Night Live”. These shows air on Comedy Central Asia at the following times:

“The Daily Show with Jon Stewart”

- New episode premieres every Monday to Friday at 10pm (TH/WIB), 11pm (SIN/HK/PH/TW) and 12am (MAL)

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart

“Saturday Night Live”

- New episode of Season 39 premieres every Saturday at 9pm (TH/WIB), 10pm (SIN/HK/PH/TW) and 11pm (MAL)
- Catch-up with SNL Season 39 (full music episodes) every Monday to Friday at 11am (TH/WIB), 12nn (SIN/HK/PH/TW) and 1pm (MAL)
- Season 40 premieres on Saturday, 4 October at 9pm (TH/WIB), 10pm (SG/HK/PH/TW), 11pm (MAL)

Saturday Night Live


The following is a complete list of Comedy Central’s Emmy wins:

Outstanding Variety Series

- “The Colbert Report”

Outstanding Writing For A Variety Series

- “The Colbert Report”

Opus Moreschi, Head Writer, Stephen Colbert, Tom Purcell, Rich Dahm, Barry Julien, Michael Brumm, Rob Dubbin, Jay Katsir, Frank Lesser, Glenn Eichler, Meredith Scardino, Max Werner, Eric Drysdale, Paul Dinello, Nate Charny, Sam Kim, Aaron Cohen, Gabe Gronli, Matt Lappin, Writers

Outstanding Picture Editing for Short-Form Segments and Variety Specials

- Eric Davies, Editor, “The Daily Show with Jon Stewart” – McConnelling (Segment)

Outstanding Guest Actor In A Comedy Series

- Jimmy Fallon, Host “Saturday Night Live”

Outstanding Directing For A Variety Series

- “Saturday Night Live,” Host: Jimmy Fallon.

Don Roy King, Directed by.

Outstanding Costumes For A Variety Program Or A Special

- “Saturday Night Live,” Host: Jimmy Fallon.

Tom Broecker, Costume Designer, Eric Justian, Costume Designer.

Outstanding Hairstyling For A Multi-Camera Series Or Special

- “Saturday Night Live,” Host: Anna Kendrick.

Bettie O. Rogers, Department Head Hairstylist, Jodi Mancuso, Key Hairstylist, Inga Thrasher, Hairstylist, Jennifer Serio Stauffer, Hairstylist, Cara Hannah Sullivan, Hairstylist, Joe Whitmeyer, Hairstylist.

Outstanding Makeup For A Multi-Camera Series Or Special (Non-Prosthetic)

- “Saturday Night Live,” Host: Jimmy Fallon.

Louie Zakarian, Department Head Makeup Artist, Amy Tagliamonti, Additional Makeup Artist, Sarah Egan, Additional Makeup Artist, Daniela Zivkovic, Additional Makeup Artist, Melanie Demitri, Additional Makeup Artist.